Share on TwitterShare on FacebookPin it on PinterestShare via email
Centric drops the nominees for their ode to R&B/soul in the Soul Train Awards. This year, Usher leads pack with five nominations, including the show’s two biggest awards Song of the Year (“Climax”) and Album of the Year (“Looking 4 Myself”). R. Kelly also makes history with his two nominations this year, making him the most nominated artist in the award show’s history. Nas, Trey Songz, John Legend, Estelle, Miguel also receive multiple nominations. View all the nominations: Best New Artist Elle Varner Emeli Sande J. Cole Luke James Robert Glasper Centric Award Daley Esperanza Spalding Gary Clark Jr. Leah Labelle Santigold Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance BeBe Winans- “America America” Fred Hammond- “I Feel Good” Marvin Sapp- “My Testimony” Mary Mary- “Go Get It” Whitney Houston and Jordin Sparks- “Celebrate” Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year 2 Chainz ft. Drake- “No Lie” Wale ft. Miguel- “Lotus Flower Bomb” Nas- “Daughters” Kanye West ft. Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz – “Mercy” Young Jeezy ft. Ne-Yo- “Leave You Alone” Best R&B/Soul Female Artist Beyoncé Estelle Keyshia Cole Mary J. Blige Melanie Fiona Best R&B/Soul Male Artist Miguel Robin Thicke Trey Songz Tyrese Usher Album of the Year The One – Eric Benet Channel Orange -Frank Ocean Life Is Good -Nas Write Me Back -R. Kelly Looking For Myself -Usher Song of the Year Estelle- “Thank You” John Legend ft. Ludacris- “Tonight (Best You Ever Had)” Trey Songz- “Heart Attack” Tyrese- “Stay” Usher- “Climax” Wale ft. Miguel- “Lotus Flower Bomb” The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award “Thank You”-Estelle (Writers: Arden Altino, Akene “The Champ” Dunkley, Jerry Duplessis, Doug F. Edwards, Thomas D. Richardson, Aliaune Thiam) “Tonight (Best You Ever Had)” -John Legend ft. Ludacris (Writers: Allen Arthur, Christopher “Ludacris” Bridges, Keith Justice, Miguel Pimentel “Miguel”, Clayton Reilly, John Stephens) “Daughters”-Nas (Writers: Nasir Jones, Ernest D. Wilson, Patrick Adams, Gary DeCarlo, Dale Frashuer, Paul Leka) “Share My Love”-R. Kelly (Writer: Robert Kelly) “Climax” -Usher (Writers: Usher Raymond IV, Sean “Redd Stylez” Fenton, Thomas “Diplo” Pentz, Ariel Rechtshaid) Best Dance Performance Beyoncé- “Love On Top” Chris Brown- “Turn Up The Music” Nicki Minaj- “Starships” Rihanna- “Where Have You Been” Usher- “Scream” Best Caribbean Performance* Cover Drive – “Bajan Style” Damien “Junior Gong” Marley- “SuperHeavy” Jimmy Cliff- “Rebirth” Matisyahu – “Spark Seeker” Sean Paul – “Tomahawk Technique” Best International Performance* Amy Winehouse- “Our Day Will Come” Daley ft. Marsha Ambrosius- “Alone Together” Emeli Sande- “Next To Me” Estelle- “Thank You” Gotye ft. Kimbra- “Somebody (That I Used To Know)” Rebecca Ferguson- “Nothing’s Real But Love” Best Traditional Jazz Artist/Group* Chris Botti- Impressions Kenny Garrett- Seeds From The Underground Melody Gardot- The Absence The Robert Glasper Experiment – Black Radio Tony Bennett- Isn’t It Romantic Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/Group* Ben Tankard- Full Tank Brian Culbertson- DREAMS Cassandra Wilson- Another Country Esperanza Spalding- Radio Music Society Peter White- Here We Go The show will air on Sunday November 25th at 9PM, hosted by Cedric The Entertainer and also featuring New Edition receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Related News


No Comments Yet, Please Leave One!

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment. Log in »